Thursday, July 29, 2010

Incarnation of Lord Vishnu-Dashavtar


Lord Vishnu is the great protector and restorer of Dharma (moral order). It is said that whenever Darma, the values of truth, order of principles comes under the terror, Lord Vishnu incarnates into the Universe and re-constitute the truth, Dharma, order and law by destroying the evil spirits from the earth and restore the peace.

10 Incarnation of Lord Vishnu - Dashavtar

1. Matsya Avtar (The Fish incarnation)
In the first incarnation, Lord Vishnu emerged in aquatic form (Fish) originated from sea and saved the life of a sage Vaivaswata from flood and retrieve the all Vedas from evil demons. 

2. Kurma Avtar (The Turtle incarnation)
In the second incarnation, Lord Vishnu emerged in Kurma (an amphibian) who had offered his back as a pivot to Mount Mandara for rest and sustained the entire earth on his back by representing the life transition from water to land.

3. Varaha Avatar (The Boar incarnation)
In the third incarnation, Lord Vishnu emerged in boar form (a full fledged terrestrial animal )and retrieved the stolen Veda’s and discharge the Earth from the bottom of the ocean by killing the demon Hiranyaksha.

4. Narasingha Avatar (The Half Lion-Half man incarnation)
In the forth incarnation, Lord Vishnu emerged in a form of a creature who was half-lion and half-man and killed the Hiranyashasipu-demon (brother of Niranyaksha) who blessed with immunity from all attacks and wanted to kill his own son who was great devotee of Lord Vishnu.

5. Vamana Avatar (The Dwarf incarnation)

In the fifth incarnation Lord Vishnu emerged in the form of Dwarf  who killed the demon named Bali who had gained domination over the entire earth and had chased (displaced)the all gods from the paradises. 

6. Parasurama Avatar (The Brahmin warrior incarnation)

In the sixth incarnation Lord Vishnu emerged in a form of Brahmin, a great warrior. He killed the King Kartavirya as he had stolen the holy cow Kamadhenu that could fulfill all wishes. 

7. Ram Avatar ( King incarnation )

In the seventh incanation of Lord Vishnu emerged in the form of great King (having the helm of political control) who killed the demon Ravana (the King of Lanka) as his better half queen Sita was abducted by Ravana.

8. Krishna Avatar (Cowherd boy incarnation )

In the eighth incarnation of Lord Vishnu emerged in the form of Cowherd’s boy who killed Kansa-King of Mathura. It was his most prominent incarnation with the ideal person and leading role in Mahabharat as a matured philosophical strategist and intellectual.

9. Buddha Avatar
In the ninth incarnation Lord Vishnu emerged in a form of Buddha who removed suffering from the Universe. It is considered but have not been worshipped directly to him as an incarnation of Lord Vishnu.

10. Kalki Maitreya Avtar
This is the tenth and last incarnation of Lord Vishnu but not emerged yet and
will mark the end of all evil in the universe. It is said that in this incarnation he would be appeared as seated on a white horse. It is a weird figure which flies like a bird run like a horse and spits fire burning everything which comes in its way. As per mythology this destructive animal has the mission of putting an end to the whole universe. (a man on a white horse)---


  1. Om Shri Vishnave Cha Vidmahe Vasudevaya Dhimahi।
    Tanno Vishnuh Prachodayat॥
    To get more details about mantras, bhajans, pujas and chants,
    download mangaldeep app and get all benefits,